Time Trial Dates for 2020

Happy new year! Hopefully your winter training is going well and you will be able set new pb’s in this years time trials! Below are the dates that you need to know for all time trial events run by Brighton Mitre.

Please note – REAR LIGHTS are now compulsory for any CTT club or open event, no light = no start!

Club Events

Photo by Alison Lewis.

Sunday 8 March                0930       Hard-riders’ “22.74”        Poynings (GS/981)

Tuesday 21 April               1900       Hill-climb               Mill Hill (GH/94)

Tuesday 28 April               1900       Hill-climb               Mill Hill  (GH/94)

Tuesday 2 June                 1930       “15”                          Steyning (G15/93)

Tuesday 9 June                 1900       Champs. “10”,inter-club Steyning (G10/97)

Tuesday 23 June               1945       Champs. “25”          W.Grinstead (G25/96)

Tuesday 30 June               1930       Champs. “15”           Steyning (G15/93)

Tuesday 4 August             1900       “10”                           Wineham (G10/99)

Tuesday 11 August          1900       “10”                            Wineham (G10/99)

Tuesday 18 August          1900       “10”                             Wineham (G10/99)

Tuesday 25 August          1900       Hill-climb                   Mill Hill (GH/94)

Tuesday 1 September    1900       Hill-climb                    Mill Hill (GH/94)

All entries on the line, £6, but hill-climbs £5. 

All evening events , except inter-club “10”, count towards the evening series cup; 5,4,3,2,1 point(s) for first 5 in each event.  To win the trophy for 2020, amass the most points.

Open Events

Photo from Janet Clapton. National Hill Climb Championships 2019.

*Please note that entries for open events close 14 days before the event. All open events can be entered via the cycling time trials website* https://www.cyclingtimetrials.org.uk/

Easter Saturday 11 April 1000      Hilly “10”                        Kirdford (G10/44)

Easter Monday 13 April   0730    Hilly “25”                         Devils Dyke (GS/999)

Monday 25 May                0600    “10”s + Hilly “10” Steyning (G10/97 & GS/995)

Sunday 18 October            0800    “25”                                 Steyning (G25/93)

Open hill climb time trials to be announced.

For full details on the courses used, please visit – sussexca.org.uk

Patrick Brown Takes the Win in Final Evening Hill Climb

Another big field of 27 riders turned out to take on the 2.5 mile mill hill at Shoreham in the final evening hill climb of the season. The evening had taken on a distinct autumn feel with a fresh south westerly breeze giving an edge to the sunshine.

Patrick Brown took the win, with the rider from VC Venta finishing with a time of 7:50,  a full 20 seconds ahead of second placed rider Mark Day (URDT). Francis Schofield was the first Mitre rider as he came home 2 seconds later in third place.  Sharona Harrington was the first woman, finishing in a time of 10:16.  Full results below.

Attention now turns to the club’s hill climb double header on the 5th October. The open events start on Steyning Bostal with the first rider off at 11am. We then move over to Shoreham for the afternoon event on Mill Hill with the first rider off at 14:30. Please do come along to watch and let’s get a good atmosphere on the hill to encourage the riders up the steepest bits, cow bells and all!

1 Patrick Brown 07:50
2 Mark Day 08:10
3 Francis Schofield 08:12
4 Hugh Chapman 08:26
5 James Gilmore 08:30
6 Dan Street 08:31
7 Ed Jarman 08:39
8 Jack Smith 08:48
9 Kev Witton 08:50
9 Jez Parsons 08:50
11 Simon McLeod 09:01
12 Ferdie Parsons 09:08
13 Ali Bird 09:22
14 Scott Bartha 09:24
15 Edward Tuckley 09:24
16 Ed Sowden 09:36
17 Tomas Navickas 09:40
18 Jonathan Morcombe 09:40
19 Tristian Court 09:49
20 Mark Pratt 09:50
21 Alex Girdler 10:15
22 Sharona Harrington 10:16
23 Janet Clapton 10:59
24 Alice Gilmore 11:16
25 Brian Jongs 11:20
26 Alison Lewis 13:00
27 Andrina Kelly 15:40