Time trial date changes

Please note that due to a date change of the annual interclub 10 mile time trial, the planned 25 mile time trial for thie Tuesday (22/06) will not take place. We will instead be racing on the G10/97 course with the first rider off at 7. Sign on closes at 6.45 with the fee being £5.

Coxon Takes Hard Riders Title.

Although the Easter weather of cloud and just 8 degrees was still present, the reduction of a strong NE wind was welcome, as were dry roads.

Cris Coxon led by 56 seconds after the first lap from Joe Walker and widened the margin by even more on the second lap to win the Hardriders trophy for 2021, and even more remarkable on a road bike.  It is the first time that this event has seen 4 club riders inside the hour on this course, which has been in use each year since 1972.

First       Cris Coxon55           34

2              Joe Walker58           02

3              Paul Thatcher59           00

4              Jack Smith59           56

5              Scott Bartha,1              07           20

6             Robin Johnson, 1              21           00

Blowing everybody out of the water was Steve Kane (Team TMC), who produced a scintillating performance finishing in 51 46, which sets a new course record by at least 2 minutes. Steve was backing up his two 5th places in each of the two Easter hilly events at Easter.

Next Tuesday (20/04) sees the first evening TT of the season with a hill climb at Mill Hill, Shoreham. First rider is off at 7, £5 entry. Please note a compulsory rear light is required to race!

New Date For Hardriders TT

Unfortunately our hardriders time trial fell a day the wrong side of restrictions lifting but we are pleased to say we have rescheduled for the 10th April with the first rider off at 09:30. This time trial is run on the GS/981 course which starts in Poynings and is a fun way to test your early season form!

Please note our easter saturday open time trial now has a start time of 10:00am. There is still time to enter this event and our easter monday “25” by following the links below:



Whilst we are fortunate enough to be able to run these events (as it stands!), we will have to take the relevant precautions to keep everybody safe. The instructions listed below will be in place at all club time trials until further notice.

  1. Do not attend if you/your family members feel ill.
  2. Park with social distancing in mind.
  3. Bring your own pen to sign on and your own safety pins to pin your number on.
  4. Take with you when you race a compulsory working rear light, a spare tyre/tube/tub and a mobile phone.
  5. Please note you have to make your own way back in event of trouble – no collections offered.
  6. No more than 5 riders, 2m apart, to wait at the start.
  7. No items to be left at the start or with the timekeeper or in the time trials secretary’s van (which will be unavailable to riders while the pandemic is in progress).
  8. No push-off.
  9. After racing, please leave your number in the bowl of disinfectant when signing-out.
  10. No social, no drinks, no food and do not expect times to be available near the finish; times will be listed on the club’s facebook group and website asap.
  11. Please leave the car parking area in a timely fashion.

2021 Time Trial Events

Listed below are the time trials being run by Brighton Mitre in 2021. Lets hope they all go ahead!

CLUB Events

Sunday 28 March      GS/981   22.34 miles       £6        0930     Poynings          

                                                    2 x11.17 laps    

Tuesday 20 April           GH/94              2.66       £5        1900     Shoreham

Tuesday 27 April           GH/94              2.66       £5        1900     Shoreham

Tuesday  8  June            G10/97             10          £6        1900     Steyning

  Interclub event                                                                   Incl. Champs.

Tuesday 22 June           G25/96            25       £6        1945     W.Grinstead

                                                            Incl. Champs.

Tuesday  6  July             G15/93             15       £6        1930     Steyning

                                                            Incl. Champs.

Tuesday  3  August        G10/99             10          £6        1900     Wineham

Tuesday 10 August        G10/99             10          £6        1900     do.

Tuesday 17 August        G10/99             10          £6        1900     do.

Tuesday 24 August        GH/94              2.66       £5        1900     Shorehsm

Tuesday 31 August        GH/94              2.66       £5        1900     do.                  

Open events:   

Saturday 3 April            G10/44             Hilly 10       £14      1500     Kirdford

Monday 5 April             GS/999             Hilly 25      £14      0730     Devil’s Dyke

Monday 31 May            G10/97             10               £14      0630     Steyning

Monday 31 May                   GS/995             Hilly 10  £14      0800     Steyning

Sunday 24 October       G25/49             25            £14      1000     Loxwood

2020 Time Trial Results

Time trialling resumed in earnest in the late summer with lockdowns eased in the south east and most events being able to run. The isolated nature of time trialling proved to be a popular way for members to pin on a number and turn the pedals in anger whilst other racing was cancelled.

Here are the club championship winners as well as a few other notable results by club members.

1st in Veterans Time Trial Association (Surrey/Sussex) “30”  Don Parker

1st team in Veterans Time Trial Association (Surrey/Sussex) “50”

                                John Marinko, Don Parker + Robin Johnson.

“10” Championships:  Men – Mike Coyle  23  42

“25” Championships:   Men – Mike Coyle  1  0  17 (he says it’s his slowest “25” ever.)

                                            Women – Katerina Avramides  1  15  46

1st team in Brighton Mitre open hill climb on Steyning Bostal:
Cris Coxon, Laurence Rose, Joe Walker

3rd Woman in Brighton Mitre Open “25” – Anouska Greenaway 1 05 53