Today’s Hard-riders’ 22.34 miles time trial for the Holdstock trophy.

A scintillating performance by Marek Shafer to win by over 10 minutes from Martin O’Neill in a small field of five riders, compared with just three last year.

The result should have seen Paul Thatcher in contention but he sadly punctured in the first mile and did not finish. Marek can look forward to being presented with the trophy at the next club dinner.

Past winners: Sam Kimber, Cris Coxon and Jack Smith did not compete.

Course record of 51:46 by Steve Kane from 2022 remains.